Friday 23 September 2016

The Observer Magazine - We Are The Champions (cut-outs - 1976) (04)

We Are The Champions
The Observer Magazine
44 cut-outs

Paul Chauveau has provided a photo of the double-page spread from The Observer Magazine dated 19 September, 1976 showing that there are 44 players in total. This list has now been updated and is complete. Previous posts relating to this collection have now been updated with the correct issuer information and collection title.

UPDATE (23-11-2019 17:49):  Richard Small has provided another scan of the two-page spread from The Observer.
  1. Ivor Allchurch (Swansea Town)
  2. Gordon Banks (Stoke City)   -   added
  3. Billy Bassett (West Bromwich Albion)   -   amended 23-11-2019  -  thanks to Richard Small
  4. Jim Baxter (Rangers)
  5. George Best (Manchester United)
  6. Danny Blanchflower (Tottenham Hotspur)
  7. Steve Bloomer (Derby County)   -   added
  8. Matt Busby (Manchester City)
  9. Roger Byrne (Manchester United)
  10. Johnny Carey (Manchester United)
  11. John Charles (Leeds United)
  12. Bobby Charlton (Manchester United)
  13. Bob Crompton (Blackburn Rovers)
  14. Stan Cullis (Wolves)
  15. Dixie Dean (Everton)
  16. Peter Doherty (Derby County)
  17. Duncan Edwards (Manchester United)
  18. Tom Finney (Preston North End)
  19. Hughie Gallacher (Newcastle United)
  20. Jimmy Greaves (Tottenham Hotspur)
  21. Sam Hardy (Liverpool)
  22. Alex James (Arsenal)
  23. Pat Jennings (Tottenham Hotspur)
  24. Lord Kinnaird (The Wanderers)
  25. Denis Law (Manchester United)
  26. Tommy Lawton (Chelsea)
  27. Nat Lofthouse (Bolton Wanderers)
  28. Dave Mackay (Tottenham Hotspur)   -   added
  29. Billy McCracken (Newcastle United)
  30. Jimmy McGrory (Celtic)
  31. Stanley Matthews (Blackpool)
  32. Joe Mercer (Arsenal)
  33. Billy Meredith (Manchester City)
  34. Alan Morton (Rangers)
  35. Bobby Moore (West Ham United)   -   added
  36. Stan Mortensen (Blackpool)
  37. Alf Ramsey (Southampton)
  38. Laurie Reilly (Hibernian)
  39. Don Revie (Manchester City)
  40. Len Shackleton (Sunderland)
  41. Billy Walker (Aston Villa)
  42. Willie Woodburn (Rangers)
  43. Billy Wright (Wolves)
  44. George Young (Rangers)

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please feel free to leave a comment, though it will not appear straight away, as I will need to authorize it.