Sunday, 27 October 2013

D.C. Thomson / The Skipper - THO-765/THO-108 The Winner Football Flags

THO-765/THO-108  The Winner Football Flags
D.C. Thomson / The Skipper
63 flags

Three sheets, each containing 21 flags were given away with The Skipper in 1934, along with an album to keep the collection in. The flags had to be cut out, folded in half with a pin placed down the centre before the two halves were stick together. Each flag had a player on the front and jersey in the club colours on the back, as shown by the examples above, not to scale. Thanks to Roger Pashby for the scan of the album cover. You can check out the Huddersfield Town flag in this collection on Roger's website, 1908 Huddersfield Town Cards & Stickers 2013.

The Winner Football Flags - sheet 1

J. Dunne (Arsenal)
H. Hibbs (Birmingham)
R. Bauld (Bradford City)
J. Mayes (Clyde)
L. Morgan (Dundee)
W. Dean (Everton)
J. Bestall (Grimsby Town)
D. Wilson (Hamilton Academicals)
A. Massie (Heart of Midlothian)
H. Duggan (Leeds United)
E. Hine (Manchester United)
G. Camsell (Middlesbrough)
G. Walker (Notts County)
R. M'Phail (Rangers)
J. Latimer (St Mirren)
E. Blenkinsop (Sheffield Wednesday)
E. Drake (Southampton)
T. Sale (Stoke)
R. Gurney (Sunderland)
V. Watson (West Ham United)
T. Douglas (Burnley)

The Winner Football Flags - sheet 2

J. Milson (Bolton Wanderers)
J. Parris (Bradford Park Avenue)
J. Vernon (Bury)
A. Tootill (Fulham)
D. Urquhart (Hibernian)
R. Goodall (Huddersfield Town)
W. M'Naughton (Hull City)
H. Adcock (Leicester City)
A. Horne (Lincoln City)
G. Hodgson (Liverpool)
J. M'Menemy (Motherwell)
E. M'Leod (Partick Thistle)
J. Calder (St Johnstone)
H. Hanford (Swansea Town)
J. Warden (Third Lanark)
A. Hetherington (Wolverhampton Wanderers)
W. Mills (Aberdeen)
J. Weddle (Portsmouth)
E. Harper (Preston North End)
T. Glidden (West Bromwich Albion)
G. Hunt (Tottenham Hotspur)

The Winner Football Flags - sheet 3

J. Shaw (Airdrieonians)
J. M'Lean (Blackburn Rovers)
P. Watson (Blackpool)
J. Holliday (Brentford)
J. M'Grory (Celtic)
P. O'Dowd (Chelsea)
J. Bartram (Falkirk)
J. Maxwell (Kilmarnock)
M. Busby (Manchester City)
J. Poxton (Millwall)
S. Weaver (Newcastle United)
J. Graham (Nottingham Forest)
J. Pears (Oldham Athletic)
S. Black (Plymouth Argyle)
T. Rhodes (Port Vale)
J. Crawford (Queens Park)
R. Barclay (Sheffield United)
A. Robertson (Cowdenbeath)
A. Cunliffe (Aston Villa)
D. Duncan (Derby County)
Your own flag

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please feel free to leave a comment, though it will not appear straight away, as I will need to authorize it.